Election for PM on Friday: Nomination papers of 5 candidates accepted

ISLAMABAD:  A total of five candidates on Thursday filed their nomination papers to the National Assembly Secretariat for the coveted slot of Prime Minister of Pakistan. Their candidacy papers were accepted as the new PM will be selected on Friday in National Assembly session. Pakistan Peoples Party candidates, former Textile Minister Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf and former Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Qamar Zaman Kaira filed their papers. , Besides the ruling coalition, veteran politician Maulana Fazal ur Rehman, of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F), Sardar Mehtab Abbasi of Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) have also filed their papers. Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza accepted the nomination papers after scrutiny. Thursday was the last day for filing nomination papers.